John’s World Top 40 Pop Songs of 2020

Hello and welcome to my third and final list of Top Ten Songs for the year 2020. Since my heart is on the dancey side of things as far as music is concerned, I’ve already put out my picks for John’s World’s Top 40 Dance Songs of 2020 and Top 40 Chill/Lounge Songs of 2020. Needless to say, many of my choices for Top 40 Pop Songs of 2020 are from the same side of the musical aisle. As always, too, these songs represent what I listened to and liked the most from 2020, whether or not they came out in 2020. I guarantee you you won’t find a listing of songs like this anywhere else, and I promise you hours of listening pleasure on my Spotify Top 40 Pop Songs of 2020 playlist. So without further adieu, here we go…

#40 – Makeba – Jain

I probably should have included this song on my Top 40 Dance Songs because it’s got one heck of a groove! I learned it back in February when I was at a party and someone put it on the telly. I was hooked, and so will you be…

#39 – Unstoppable – AJ Mitchell

I don’t know enough about AJ Mitchell yet, though I found this song to be very catchy in a pop sugary kind of way. Here’s Unstoppable

#38 – Superpower – Adam Lambert

Adam Lambert! Oh, I love Adam Lambert! And so do so many others. I’ve never really followed him too much in the poast, but beginning with this song, I’m a big fan. Here’s Superpower

#37 – Chrysalis – Empire of the Sun

Oh, this one’s an old one, but it remained in my top playlists all year long thanks to its irresistible catchiness and inspirational tone. Great, great song! Here’s Chrysalis

And we all rise
From the shadows, from the slumber, sun rise
Each and everyone
It’s gonna be alright if we stick together for all time

#36 – Treat People With Kindness – Harry Styles

Oh Harry! One of my favorite sayings of his became a song! Treat People With Kindness. YES!

#35 – Addicted to the Sunshine – Lime Cordiale

I discovered this hip Austrailian band this year and I really like their music. Here’s a laid back, easy breezy kinda summer jam…

#34 – React – Pussycat Dolls

I loved this song by the reunited Pussycat Dolls…

#33 – Video Games – Sufjan Stevens

I just posted this one the other day. 80’s Nouveaux!

#32 – All My Friends – Dermot Kennedy

Woof! What a heartfelt, beautiful song by Irish newcomer Dermott Kennedy! Here’s All My Friends

#31 – Match In the Rain – Alec Benjamin

Alec Benjamin has a very unusual voice, and he’s got a talent for storytelling in his music. Here’s my favorite of his catalog to date…

#30 – Robbery – Lime Cordiale

Here’s anpther Lime Cordiale song, and I’ve managed to get a few people to like this very catchy one. Here’s Robbery

#29 – Married In Vegas – The Vamps

Somewhere towards the middle of the year, The Vamps came out with a new album, Cherry Blossom, and this was the first single. Vintage Vamps. Here’s Married In Vegas

#28 – March March – The Chicks

Well, The Chicks are not very popular with just about a full third of the country, but their talent is undeniable. Here’s March March

#27 – Never Felt a Love Like This – Galantis, Hook n’ Sling, Dotan

Uplifting. Spiritual. Goosebumps. Yeah!

#26 – What’s Your Pleasure? – Jessie Ware

British singer Jessie Ware brought us a dance tune that hearkens back to 80’s dance music. So hot! Here’s What’s Your Pleasure?

#25 – Empty – Quinn Lewis

This song made it to my Top 40 Chill/Lounge Songs of 2020 and it works pretty good here, too. Here’s Quinn Lewis…

#24 – Forever – Justin Bieber, Post Malone, Clever

Justin Bieber really does R&B well, as evidenced by this jam…

#23 – Intentions – Justin Bieber, Quavo

Here’s another cool Bieber jam from 2020…

#22 – Boots – Greyson Chance

I’ve really gotten to know Greyson Chance over the past year or so and this late 2019 entry got a lot of airplay in John’s World this year. Here’s Boots

#21 – Supalonely – BENEE, Gus Dapperton

Here’s a funky jam that got a lot of airplay on TikTok this year. Check out Supalonely...

#20 – Demons – Hayley Kiyoko

Love this funky track by singer/actress Hayley Kiyoko. Here’s Demons

#19 – Don’t Call Me Up – Mabel

I’ve loved everything about this song from the moment I heard it. Here’s Mabel…

#18 – Lilacs – Waxahatchee

Modern day folk! So good!

#17 – Who’s Got Your Love – Cheat Codes, Daniel Blume

I’m a big fan of Cheat Codes and this song definitely deserves airplay…

#16 – Say So – Doja Cat

One of the most popular songs on TikTok this year was this vintage, Chic-esque tune from Doja Cat. Check out Say So

#15 – Wars – Of Monsters and Men

Yeah, I love you on the weekends
But I’m careless and I’m wicked
Yeah, I love you on the weekends
It’s a cruel war

#14 – Breathe Deeper – Tame Impala

Neo-disco at it’s best…chill grooves, 70’s vibe, so good! Here’s Breathe Deeper

#13 – Higher – Bishop Briggs

I’m not really sure how well this song did during the year, but I love it! Here’s Bishop Briggs and Higher

#12 – W.A.P. – Cardi B, Megan Thee Stallion

It’s hard to deny the attraction to this hypnotic, funky, and sexy track by the always controversial Cardi B. Warning, explicit content ahead…

#11 – You’ll Miss Me When I’m Not Around – Grimes

This song still grows on me with every listen. Here’s Grimes…

#10 – Faith – Galantis, Dolly Parton, Mr. Probz

Know the road gets hard
And you just wanna leave
I ain’t ever too far
Just have a little faith in me
When all the fears you hide
Are all you can believe
Oh, I’ll be standing by your side
Just have little faith in me

I love inspirational songs, and this one is the bomb! Here’s Galantis, with Dolly and Mr. Probz…

#9 – Bad Guy – Billie Eilish

I know this one’s way behind 2020, but this was the year I finally caught on. Here’s the irresistible Bad Guy

#8 – Midnight Sky – Miley Cyrus

I’ve followed Miley Cyrus for several years now and I loved this one on first listen. Here’s Midnight Sky

#7 – Truth Hurts – Lizzo

I put the sing in single
Ain’t worried ’bout a ring on my finger

Ah Lizzo! Can’t wait to see what she comes up with next. Here’s Truth Hurts

#6 – Adore You – Harry Styles

Harry Styles really broke through this year with his sophomore album, Fine Line, and here’s one of the reasons why…

#5 – Roses – Adam Lambert

Here’s Adam Lambert’s second entry on this list with the funky Roses

#4 – Rain On Me – Lady Gaga, Ariana Grande

2020 marked the return of Gaga to her old, dance/pop form. Here she is with a little help from Ariana Grande with Rain On Me

#3 – Watermelon Sugar – Harry Styles

One of the catchiest pop songs of the year was this ode to…well…Watermelon Sugar. Here’s Harry Styles…

#2 – Physical – Dua Lipa

I first discovered this song off of Dua Lipa’s new album, Future Nostalgia, in New Orleans where it was mixed wonderfully with Olivia Newton John’s tune of the same name. Here’s Physical

#1 – Good As Hell – Lizzo

Indie rapper Lizzo is surely a force to be reckoned with, and this catchy, silly jam is one of the reasons why. Here’s Good As Hell

Well, there you have it, my Top 40 Pop Songs of 2020. I hope you’ve enjoyed checking it out and look forward to more great music on John’s World in 2021.