John’s World’s Top 40 Chill/Lounge Grooves of 2020

What is chill/lounge music? Well for me it has morphed into a wider grouping of sounds in music over the past few years, from down low beats and grooves to easy listening to folk, jazz, and toinstrument-focused songs, acoustic songs that feature a guitar or a piano. I like to call some of these latter tyes of songs Coffee House music. Either way, chill/lounge or coffee house, it’s all good for a gathering of friends or an intimate evening for two, where the music is enjoyable but not overpowering.

I’ve got several playlists for this type of music on my Spotify. Check out the links at the bottom of this post to check them out. With that said, herein are my favorite chill/lounge//coffee house tracks for 2020. Please check them out…

#40 – Kick It – Natasha Bedingfield

2020 marked a return to the spotlight for Natasha Bedingfield, who once had a monster hit with one of my favorite songs of all time, the gloriously inspirational Unwritten. Though it had been 16 years since that iconic record, Bedingfield’s talent still shines. It took me a little while to catch this groove into my head, but once it did…ooh la la! So click play below and check out the uplifting Kick It from someone who follows me on Twitter. (How cool is that!?!!!)

#39 – Take a Number – Marian Hill, Dounia

I’ve been a fan of the smoothish, jazzy sounds of Philadelphia-based duo Marian Hill, and this collaboration with Moroccan-American singer Dounia from August 2019 brought me to some very chill places in 2020. Check out this sultry, chill masterpiece right here.

#38 – Witching Hour – TOPS

This one gets put under to the Coffee House Vibes umbrella rather than chill because it’s got more of an alternative feel than a dancey one. Still, this one’s a perfect background tune that’ll have you tapping your feet and humming along as you enjoy your own coffee and conversation. Here’s the band, TOPS, performing the song live and in studio…

#37 – The Hard Way – IV JAY

Here’s another groovaliscious 2020 jam for your listening pleasure.

#36 – Be Kind – Marshmello, Halsey

Now this one charted much higher on Billboard’s charts on than here, and maybe that’s because I’m less of a fan of commercial success and more akin to be steered towards the newer and less known. Still, this collaboration between two big stars is hard to ignore, and the song is good, falling perfectly within the realm of chill/lounge music. Check out Marshmello and Halsey on Be Kind

#35 – Collide – Tiana Major9, EARTHGANG

Ooh, there is nothing like a soulful, rhythm and blues groove! Just check out a performance of this song that Billboard Magazine calls ‘enchanting’…

#34 – Pretty Lady – Tash Sultana

I love the sounds of Aussie singer/songwriter and instrumentalist Tash Sultana. Almost always cool, chill vibes, like this one. Check out Pretty Lady...

#33 – Truth Never Lies – Lost Frequencies, Aloe Blacc

Belgian deejay/producer Lost Frequencies really came under my radar earlier this year with another song that you’ll see much higher on this list, but my interest in his music was piqued even further with this soulful and serious tune featuring vocalist Aloe Blacc. Here’s Truth Never Lies

#32 – Say So – Doja Cat, Nicki Minaj

Here’s the first of two songs to make it on both my Top 40 Dance Songs of 2020 and this list. Not only is this smash hit groovey, dancey, but it’s also got a pretty cool, chill vibe. Take a listen…

#31 – Forever and a Day – DRAMA

Here’s another nice, chill groove…

#30 – Cold Feet – Loud Luxury

One of my favorite chill songs of the year is this contemplative, sweet lullaby. Check out Cold Feet

#29 – Harmony Hall – Vampire Weekend

Here’s one that scored high on my list in 2019, and it definitely carried over into 2020 for its wonderful lyrics and sound. I became a big fan of Vampire Weekend as a result of this song and though it came out in 2019, it holds a rightful place in this year, as well. Here’s Harmony Hall

We took a vow in summertime
Now we find ourselves in late December

#28 – Kevin – Oliver Malcolm

I absolutely love the R&B sounds of this funky chill groove. Ooh, check out Kevin

#27 – Monsta – BENEE

A monster takes me away
From my safe space
Into the night

Nice, smooth vibes…

#26 – The Birthday Party – The 1975

I really don’t know how I went all of this time without noticing The 1975, but earlier on in the year I came across this melancholy, rhythmic tune and now I’m a bona fide fan. Here’s The Birthday Party

#25 – You and I – Caribou

Check out the smooth sounds of Caribou on this gently sweeping track…

#24 – Radical – Amtrac, Totally Enormous Extinct Dinosaurs

I immediately was attracted to this song because it reminds me of one of the first chill vibes I ever came in contact with way back in 2000. Back then, multi-talented British artist Chicane served up some of the most mesmerizing chill sounds on his second studio album, Behind the Sun, and really got me into the genre. The sounds on this track seem truly inspired by my old favorite. Here’s Radical

#23 – We’ll Be Alright – Yoste

Ethereal chill!

#22 – Rewind – Absofacto

Some more sweet, chill, and whistling vibes. Check out Rewind

#21 – Falling In Love – Cigarettes After Sex

Ah, Cigarettes After Sex! The Texas band’s Wikipedia page says that they are known for their “ethereal, limerent, and often dream-like musical style, [with] lyrics often based on the themes of romance and love.” Indeed, every song I’ve heard from them fits that description exactly. From the gentle, dream-like sounds of the music to the soothing voice of lead singer Greg Gonzalez, Cigarettes After Sex has become one of my favorite bands. Here’s the first of three songs in this list, a marvelous, romantic song. Here’s Falling In Love

#20 – Alien – Dennis Lloyd

Israeli artist Dennis Lloyd’s Alien is a perfect chill/lounge track with all of the necessary ingredients. Check out Alien...

#19 – Lights Up – Harry Styles

The lead single to Harry Styles’ Fine Line is this tune that I called ethereal and soothing when I first posted it on John’s World. Great song!

#18 – Breathe Deeper – Tame Impala

The second of two songs to appear both here and on my Top 40 Dance Songs of 2020 is this neo-disco jam by Tame Impala. Click the link and check it out.

#17 – Cigarettes – Tash Sultana

Though this one came out in 2018, it didn’t come under my radar until earlier this year, and it was my first glimpse into the wonderful world of Tash Sultana. Check out Cigarettes

#16 – Adore You – Harry Styles

The second of two songs in this list off of Harry Styles’ Fine Line album is just a hodgepodge of feel-good. Check out Adore You

#15 – Need Your Love – Gryffin, Seven Lions, Noah Kahan

I need your love
To give me hope when I can’t breathe
I need your love
To lift me up when I am weak
I need your love
When I hate every part of me
I need your love to set me free
I need your love
I need your love

Such a sweet, uplifting, chill vibe! Check out I Need Your Love

#14 – Lilacs – Waxahatchee

This folksy jam by indie music project Waxahatchee fits more under a coffee house vibe than a chill one, but it’s such a soothing song that it makes a perfect background for coffee talk or a playful stroll along the beach with your lover. Check out Lilacs

#13 – Did My Best – The Voidz

Another track of the coffee talk brand is very retro and very toe-tapping. Check out Did My Best

#12 – Take You Home – Dido

Another entry from pre-2020 is this comeback song from Brit master chill singer/songwriter Dido, this one got a lot of airplay in John’s World this year. Check out Take You Home on John’s World.

#11 – Fidelity – Regina Spektor

Regina Spektor’s Fidelity has become one of my favorite songs this year, even though it was originally released in 2006. I posted it recently on John’s World’s Best of 2020 Songs of the Day so check it out here.

#10 – All of My Love – RAYE, Young Adz

This jazzy tune came out early in the year and one of the reasons I even paid attention to it was singer RAYE, whose voice is heavenly. Check out this modern take on the classic call and respond style of jazz…

#9 – How It Goes – Starrah

Multi-talented singer/songwriter Starrah debuted this song in August and just one listen hooked me. Love it all on this one, the music, the vocals, the lyrics. Check it out…

#8 – Beat of My Heart – Lost Frequencies, Love Harder

There are only a handful of songs I consider to be among the saddest of all time and this late 2019 entry by Belgian deejay/producer Lost Frequencies is one of them. Every once in awhile you need a tune that’ll get you thinking and this one is one of them. Check out Beat of My Heart

#7 – Empty – Quinn Lewis

Just a week ago I posted this under Best Songs of 2020 Song of the Day and for good reason. Such a great tune! Check it out on John’s World.

#6 – 6’s to 9’s – Big Wild

I am a huge fan of Big Wild and this amazing song and video is one of the reasons why. I said earlier that if I was younger, I might’ve gone for being a dancer and the dancing in this video is one that I would love to be a part of. Here’s 6’s to 9’s

#5 – Heavenly – Cigarettes After Sex

Ooh, Cigarettes After Sex! Grab the one you love, click play and enjoy…

#4 – Forever – Justin Bieber, Post Malone, Clever

Like him or not, Justin Bieber has a fantastic voice and an ear for good, smooth vibes at times. Here’s his hypnotic vocals have you bopping your head as you sing along. Hella cool song! Here’s Justin…

#3 – Touch – Cigarettes After Sex

In case you can’t tell by now that Cigarettes After Sex is by far the best group of this genre over the past year. Dreamy, romantic, and super chill! Take a listen to Touch

#2 – Wars – Gods & Monsters

One of the better songs in general this year was this super catchy coffee house tune from Icelandic band Gods and Monsters. Check out Wars

#1 – Never Felt a Love Like This – Galantis, Hook & Sling, Dotan

Woof! This song was by far my #1 choice for this list. It is very chill and very inspirational and uplifting, and all of this over a soaring gospel background. A perfect fit! Check out Galantis…

Well, I hope you checked out some of these tunes. I know people of all ages that enjoy chill/lounge or coffee house music. They’re perfect songs to go to when you need just a little, soothing background to whatever you’re doing. As promised, here are some playlists for you to follow and enjoy:

Chillaxin 2020

Chillaxin

Chillaxin Classics I

Coffee House Vibes

Folksy Guitarsy Bluesy

Inspiration