Hiking Adventures on Long Island: Sound View Dunes Park/ Goldsmith’s Inlet Park, Southold

I’ve always known that the North Fork of Long Island was beautiful. I got a job out there, in Southold, almost 18 years ago, and during that time I’ve seen plenty of beauty in the area, and today I had the opportunity to see even more. The North Fork is its own unique place, quiet and tranquil compared to much of the island, with dozens upon dozens of pristine spots. I found two of them today.

The Soud View Dunes and Goldsmith’s Inlet Parks are two moderately easy and relatively short sets of trails that offer a variety of natural environments, from grasslands to woodlands, wetlands and beach. At first I intended to only do the Dunes, but when I had finished that trail in a little over an hour, I noticed that the other was only about a quarter of a mile up the road and just as small and easy as the former.

Entrance to the trail at Sound View Dunes Park

Due to the proximity of the two parks, they could both be easily be done in one longer hike, where they connect along the beach. In hindsight, I’m glad I did it the way I did, separately, entering each trail via Soundview Ave., because it gave me the opportunity to enjoy the distinct trails on their own.

Sound View Dunes is such a nice, easy and quick hike through woodlands towards the most serenest of beaches along the Long Island Sound. The trails are moderately easy, the ‘moderate’ added for both the slightly hilly terrain and the beach sand that covers much of the trails. It makes for a little more strenuous walk than your typical woodland trail, but only slightly so.

My early afternoon hike through the Dunes could not have been more peaceful. There was only one car in the lot when I pulled in and so I felt as if I had the whole place to myself. As I followed clearly marked trails, red and blue, I felt as if I were at one with nature, listening to the sounds of the forest…a variety of birds chirping, the sounds of squirrels rustling through the leaves, and even a couple of sounds I was unfamiliar with, though they were surely from some sort of forest animal.

I meandered through the trails towards the beach and when I finally reached that part of my hike, the tranquility of my experience took a new turn as the morning haze was lifting and blue skies were beginning to emerge over the sound. It was beautiful!

I spent a few moments enjoying the scene before heading back towards my car. At that point I hadn’t realized that I’d be visiting another trail down the road. I discovered Goldsmith’s Inlet when I looked at my map on my phone to find my way back to the main road. When I saw how close it was, I had to make another stop and I’m so glad I did.When I saw how close it was, I had to make another stop and I’m so glad I did.


At first glance, in that looks like a giant pond. Surrounded by lush forest to the south and the east and a row of houses on its western end, I’d found my treasure for the day. Such a beautiful spot!

I followed along the very easy trail around the inlet, stopping to take lots of pictures along the way. There was so many picturesque spots along the route, I could’ve stayed there for hours. But I pressed on and soon I found myself on the western end of the same beach as the Dunes. It was here that I could see where the water from the sound snakes its way from the beach and into the inlet. It was simply stunning!

The Sound View Dunes and Goldsmith’s Inlet Park are just two hiking gems on the North Fork of Long Island, and I am so grateful to have had an opportunity to visit them. If you happen to find yourself in eastern Long Island, on the North Fork and you love a relaxing and beautiful hike like I do, then you must pay these places a visit. The variety of environments in this small place are simply wondrous!

Note: As with any hike, it’s important to be aware of ticks. There are three species of ticks found on the North Fork and it’s important to keep as much of your body covered as possible, and wear repellent if you can. Check yourself and your clothing when you come out of the woods and be sure to take a shower within a couple of hours of your hike.